Search this site:


Pink Cream 69 – Headstrong

Format: Download
Released: 2017
Label: Frontiers
Reviewed By: Rich Catino
Rating: 8.5/10

One of the oddest band names in hard rock and heavy metal, formerly fronted by Andi Deris (Helloween) 1987-1994, “Headstrong” is the band’s 12th studio album.


Celebrating their 30th anniversary, holding down the fort from the 80s are Dennis Ward on bass/ keyboards/backing vocals, guitarist Alfred Koffler, and the excellent tone of David Readman (1995- ) at the mic. Album openers ‘We Bow To None’ and ‘Walls Come Down’ sees no changes in the formula – melodic hard rockin riffs and solos, punchy rhythms, and a soulful, sometimes Coverdalesish (Whitesnake), delivery from Readman. ‘No More Fear’ feels like old school 80s Dokken in the licks, while ‘Bloodsucker’ so could be on a Lynch Mob album. Elsewhere, there is more edge and punch in ‘Path of Destiny’ and ‘Whistleblower’ has a bluesy swagger. Nice acoustic guitar led piece and David shines for ‘Vagrant Of The Night’, and things end on a mellow note with ‘The Other Man’ and great vocal harmonies. Includes some bonus live stuff recorded In Ludwigsburg 2013, featuring tracks like rhythmic radio rocker ‘Special’, classic Deris era headbanger ‘Talk To The Moon’, ‘Welcome the Night’, ‘Livin' My Life for You’, and ‘Do You Like It Like That’, to ‘Break the Silence’ and ‘Shame’ from the 98 album “Electrified”.


© 2017 MetalAsylum.net