Search this site:


Wino - Adrift

Label: Exile On Mainstream
Format: CD download
Released: 2011
Reviewed By: Mark Gromen
Rating: 7/ 10

Acoustic doom? Well, almost. After all the incarnations, Scott "Wino" Weinrich keeps it simple on these dozen tunes, most featuring just his voice and acoustic guitar, although there’s a few full-blown instrumentals (‘Suzane’s Song’, ‘O.B.E.’) and a second, electrified six-string is present periodically. The opening title cut, is about a sailing vessel, sorry but can’t get the Gordon Lightfoot intonations out of my head. A little self introspection, in the form of ‘Old & Alone’. Truth be told, the lyrical output remains Wino’s tried and true, despite the unplugged format: woman troubles, no cash, mistrust of government and the law. Yet all sound refreshing in the acoustic context. Only the concluding ‘Green Speed’ opts for the distortion typically associated with the guitarist. ‘Iron Horse – Born To Lose’, the old Motorhead standard (written by original drummer Phil Taylor, with Mick Brown and Guy ‘Tramp’ Lawrence) is an odd stylistic choice, but lyrically, it fits the mold.


Nothing exceeds five minutes and most are right around three, although a few never even last that duration. Nice change of pace for mellower moods.

© 2017 MetalAsylum.net