Search this site:


We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year

Label: Armoury Records
Format: CD
Released: 2009
Reviewed By: Rich Catino
Rating: 7.5/ 10

We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year is back for another round of holiday cheer in 09. In addition, there's an additional 4 track EP available digitally via iTunes, Amazon, that includes classics like ‘Frosty The Snowman’ with vocals from Anvil's Lips Kudlow and Doro Pesch singing ‘O Christmas Tree’ with an edge.


I found most enjoyable the straight forward harder rockin versions of ‘We Wish You A Merry Xmas’ with Jeff Scott Soto on vocals and ‘Rockin' Around The Xmas Tree’ with Joe Lynn Turner and the Kulick bros. on guitar, naturally ‘God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen’ featuring Ronnie James Dio on vocals and Tony Iommi on guitar is very Sabbathy, a jazzed up ‘Santa Claus Is Back In Town’, ‘Deck The Halls’, and Tommy Shaw from Styx on ‘Happy Xmas’ keeps me hoping for a Damn Yankees reunion.

With a rather consistent energy to all the songs ‘Silent Night’ is the only tune out of place, its brutally heavy with Chuck Billy barking out the chorus, and why would someone let Lemmy sing on a Christmas song? Hahaha, I know…its supposed to be fun, tongue and cheek and made to go down with a shot of brandy, but outside of a Motorhead song Lemmy’s rasp is usually unappealing, to me.

We Wish You A Metal Xmas And A Headbanging New Year Tracklisting:

1. We Wish You A Merry Xmas - Jeff Scott Soto/ Ray Luzier/ Bob Kulick/ Chris Wyse/ Bruce Kulick
2. Run Rudolph Run - Dave Grohl/ Lemmy Kilmister/ Billy Gibbons
3. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town - Alice Cooper/ Vinny Appice/ Billy Sheehan/ John 5
4. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen - Ronnie James Dio/ Rudy Sarzo/ Tony Iommi/ Simon Wright
5. Silver Bells - Geoff Tate/ James Lomenzo/ Ray Luzier/ Carlos Cavazo
6. Little Drummer Boy - George Lynch/ Simon Phillips/ Billy Sheehan/ Dug Pinnick
7. Santa Claus Is Back In Town - Juan Garcia/ Marco Mendoza/ Steve Morse/ Tim "Ripper" Owens/ Vinny Appice
8. Silent Night - Chuck Billy/Jon Donais/ Scott Ian/ John Tempesta/ Chris Wyse
9. Deck The Halls - Craig Goldy/ Oni Logan/ Tony Franklin/ John Tempesta
10. Grandma Got Ran Over By A Reindeer - Greg Bissonette/ Stephen Pearcy/ Tracii Guns/ Billy Sheehan/ Bob Kulick
11. Rockin' Around The Xmas Tree - Joe Lynn Turner/ Rudy Sarzo/ Simon Wright/ Bob Kulick/ Bruce Kulick
12. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) - Kenny Aronoff/ Marco Mendoza/ Steve Lukather/ Tommy Shaw

Digital EP Track Listing:

1. Frosty The Snowman - Steve "Lips" Kudlow/ Bumblefoot/ Chris Chaney/ Kenny Aronoff
2. Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer - Dez Fafara/ Doug Aldrich/ Blasko/ John Tempesta
3. O Christmas Tree - Doro/Michael Schenker/ Tony Franklin/ Frankie Banali
4. Auld Lang Syne – Girlschool

© 2020 MetalAsylum.net