Search this site:


Destruction – D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N.

Label: Candlelight Records
Format: CD
Released: 2008
Reviewed By: Rich Catino
DESTRUCTION!! I mean common' the name alone screams METAALL!!

“D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N.” marks the German Thrash icons 25th anniversary. I still remember buying the second album “Infernal Overkill” on vinyl in the mid 80’s and boy was that a fucking kick in the ass, especially for a fourteen year old. I had NO IDEA what German Thrash was (don’t think anyone else in the U.S. did either) and getting bombarded by that level of sonic intensity and artwork my senses were instantly hooked by the butcher’s cleaver (speaking of the “Mad Butcher” E.p. from 1987).
“D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N.’s” track listing is laid out so as you read the first letter to each song it spells out the album’s title. Pretty cool, huh. Marcel Schmier (bass/vocals) with long standing guitarist Mike Sifringer and newest member (since 03’s “Metal Discharge”) to this three piece Marc Reign on drums show no signs of slowing down post anniversary. The opening title track (which features Vinnie Moore from UFO playing the riff) as always in Destruction tradition sets the stage after a dynamic opening guitar piece very reminiscent of the intro to “Eerie Inhabitants” from Testament’s “the New Order”. A blazing barrage of riffing ensues with Schmier’s classic scream “Yeeaahhh” leading the charge. Sooo recognizable.

“E,Levator to Hell” is akin to the album “Release from Agony”, as do other more progressive groove laden mid paced tracks like “L, Ast Desperate Scream” and especially “O,Dyssey of Frustration” and “T,He Violation of Morality” are all anchored in excellent rhythmic and tempo changes. Now I have a soft spot for the album “Release from Agony” so this release is music to my ears. Never fear thrashers because the thrash core is still very present and maybe not as straight forward as songs such as “Thrash Till Death”, “Nailed to the Cross”, or “Soul Collector”. The speed and full throttle intensity is intertwined the pockets of dynamics and melody created by Mike’s leads.

As an added bonus, axe slingers Gary Holt from Exodus and Jeff Waters from Annihilator play on 'Urge (The Greed Of Gain)'; the first solo is Gary, the second is Mike (Destruction’s guitarist), and the long third solo is Jeff.

After experiencing eternal devastation from infernal overkill and a cracked brain by the mad butcher, I realized its all been well worth it meeting the inventor of evil and the Antichrist while listening to Destruction and their Thrash Anthems.

Happy 25th!
© 2017 MetalAsylum.net