Search this site:


Fates Warning – No Exit (Reissue)

Label: Metal Blade
Format: CD/DVD
Released: 2007
Reviewed By: Rich Catino

"No Exit" is a landmark album for Fates Warning. It was the album where singer Ray Alder first appeared and one that bridged the past (which birthed a pair of classics "The Spectre Within" and "Awaken The Guardian" with original singer John Arch), to the even more progressive and artsy less aggressive latter period that began with "Perfect Symmetry" from 1989 and follow up "Parallels". Ray complimented Fate’s former voice John Arch with his Geoff Tate (Queensryche) like melodic tone and he soared with each lyric sung. Alder served well for where the Fate’s music was moving toward next.


"No Exit" while is a metal masterpiece, is noteably important as it explores new ground where the band started incorporating more of the acoustic guitar passages and dynamic and clearly haunting landscapes with the hard driving lead fret work. This musical evolution is expertly demonstrated with opener instrumental "No Exit" followed by juggernaut 'Anarchy Divine' and 'Silent Cries' to 'Shades of Heavenly Death'.

The "No Exit" album is where the compositions also became more epic with 'The Ivory Gate of Dreams' divided into eight parts beginning with the angelic guitars to intro 'Innocence' (I can hear an influence of Led Zeppelin’s "Stairway to Heaven" in the piece).

Besides the original studio songs you get out-takes, a demo, and a bonus DVD featuring plenty of live bootleg footage (which is of pretty good video and audio quality) from the "No Exit" world tour 1988 with the making of the 'Silent Cries' and 'Anarchy Divine' promo music videos included. As always with re-issues from Metal Blade, the fan gets real value for your money.

This is an invitation to visit the past and reaquaint with a must have piece in Heavy Metal music's history. Fates Warning have always offered a lot to discover in their music and this album is a must have for anyone who considers themselves a completest.

Track listing: CD - Anarchy Divine, Silent Cries, In A Word, Shades of Heavenly Death, The Ivory Gate of Dreams - I. Innocence, II. Cold Daze, III. Daylight Dreamers, IV. Quietus, V. Ivory Tower, VI. Whispers On The Wind, VII. Acquiescence, VIII. Retrospect.

Bonus Tracks: Quietus (demo), Ivory Gate of Dreams (outtake #1), Ivory Gate of Dreams (outtake #2).

Bonus-DVD - No Exit Documentary, Silent Cries Video, Anarchy Divine Video, Valley Of The Dolls Live in Philadelphia 1998.

© 2017 MetalAsylum.net