Search this site:


Lizzy Borden – Appointment With Death

Label: Metal Blade Records
Format: CD
Released: 2007
Reviewed By: Rich Catino

"Appointment with Death" should be well received by fans and critics alike. The Lizzy Borden murderous theatrical show has not been very active in recent years but this album in no way should go unnoticed. The music on "Appointment" was composed by Lizzy, Ira Black, Marten Andersson and Joey Scott with Lizzy working with special effects and make-up artist Ralis Kahn who designed the set and the look of the band based on the theme for "Appointment with Death".


The cover depicts Lizzy as the angel of death in the action of collecting three souls who have ended their lives in three very different ways by their own hands.

The current Lizzy Borden lineup has of course Lizzy on vocals with co founder Joey Scott on drums, Marten Andersson on bass and Ira Black (ex Metal Church) on guitar. The star studded guest list making contributions includes George Lynch (Dokken, Lynch Mob) who plays lead on 'The Death of Love', Dave Meniketti (Y & T) lends his bluesy talents to 'The Darker Side', Corey Beaulieu (Trivium) rocks 'Abnormal', Jonas Hansson (Silver Mountain), Erik Rutan (Hate Eternal, ex-Morbid Angel) and Michael T. Ross (Angel, Hardline). I also heard Jack Frost added his two cents but I guess he is just a ghost player for this record.

Songs like the hammering smoking lead filled 'Bloody Tears' (all guitars were done by Ira and they are deadly) to the melodic chorus of ‘Live Forever', atmospheric keyboards for 'Under Your Skin', and the catchy riff driven 'Something’s Crawling' which is one of my favorites, all show Lizzy making music in classic fashion.

This record does not disappoint.

© 2017 MetalAsylum.net